Learning to Live by Faith

– Virginia’s article from the September 2017 Newsletter

Thank you for your support of the Kids ministry! I am so very thankful for being a part of God’s plan for this church and these kids. Thank you for the opportunity to go to camp for the third year. We had such a great time in God’s presence. But let me tell you, camp is HARD! Leaders often think they are there for the kids’ benefit but, really, everyone who goes is affected. Once I was able to stop (and sleep) and then review my notes and thoughts, I was amazed when I realized all of the lessons that I learned along with the kids.

I learned that God does SEE ME. He knows the storms I’m going though, he does care, and he is there to comfort me. He will PROVIDE for me. He will give me what I need when I need it, usually no more, but just enough to make it though that specific situation. That’s hard for me to hear, I like to be prepared. I like to know what is coming and have things in place ahead of time. Usually things don’t turn out the way I’ve envisioned them. My expectations vs. God’s expectations are most of the time completely different. Failure is something I’m learning how to better deal with. When I feel like I have failed, that does not mean that God sees me as a failure. Often there are other effects or successes from my actions that I do not see. Certainly, his love for me does not go away or decrease.

“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”- Romans 8:38-39

Learning to live by faith is hard and very challenging at times. When we learn how to trust Him we can then taste the sweet waters of His love for us. I want to rise above the bitterness and taste those waters. I want to feel his love. I want the understanding that he is in control and has all the pieces of my life planned out for his good. We are here at this time and this place for Him. My purpose, that God has placed on my heart, for this time is to be here to teach your kids about the Wonderful Marvelous God we serve.

Thank you for all your support and prayers through the past year and the continued support and prayers for the planning of the coming year.

— Virginia Henry, Director Kids Ministry

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

